Nerdery for the masses!

I’ve written several times how having a bit of nerd fun is good for my head and heart. I hope that all of you have something in your lives that recharges you like this does me. 🙂 I’m blessed to have so many opportunities in my life to do or be a part of things that others consider very geeky/nerdy. I love them. 

I spent part of 2011 traveling the country (alright two other states and then once in my own SoCal) helping out at some of Nicholas Brendon‘s appearance. Much thanks to a dear friend- his webgirl, Jacqui– for those opportunities. They afforded me the chance to meet new people and gave me the excuse I needed to travel a few times. I used to live in Chicago so any excuse I can get to head back (like the recent Groupon deal which is sending me back in March!) is jumped on. Went out to New Orleans in January of last year which was amazing because it was a city that I had always wanted to visit and I could finally justify it to myself… 🙂 And well, there was Anaheim, too. 🙂 So, many adventures were afforded me by this relationship. Many new friendships came out of it too- all my comic artist friends for one.

My relationship with Evil Squirrel Comics in Chicago has also afforded me great opportunities. Sparky has been sending my brother and I to San Diego Comic-con for a few years, though we missed 2011 (hopefully we’ll be back this year). My brother is the comic geek and it’s great fun to walk the dealer room with him. That convention is ridiculously huge but if you have a buddy (or a brother) and you plan things out ahead of time it can be a lot of fun.

It’s just recently that I’ve branched out in my geekery and started providing contributions to Action Flick Chick. We’d been twitter friends for probably the last year (maybe we’ll finally meet in person at the upcoming WonderCon in Anaheim!) and she recently posted asking if anyone wanted to attend the recent Spartacus: Vengeance premiere. I did. And in the process made another new friend in Amelia Arender, my co-contributor for the event. The twitter signal went up again recently and off I went to view Kevin Smith- Live From Behind. I hope to continue to build my relationship with Action Chick.

The moral of this post is that you have to find something you love and that makes you happy- my work in psychology does that. And you need to know how to take care of yourself- a little geek fun every now and again works for me!

And because I’m basically evil and this video amuses me, I feel I need to post a recent karaoke video of my friend Mike singing with the illustrious Nicholas Brendon… 

Feel free to watch the other 29 videos in that playlist. And if Nicholas ever comes to your town… I recommend going out to meet him. 🙂

~ by elizabeth ann on February 6, 2012.

Leave a comment